Award Dinner | Newberry

Award Dinner

(Left to right) Earl Lewis, President, and Danielle Allen, Chair of the Board of Trustees of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with Newberry Board of Trustees Chair Vicki Herget and President David Spadafora

The 2016 Newberry Library Award Dinner, in Ruggles Hall

The 2016 Newberry Library Award Dinner

On April 11, 2016, the Newberry Library Award was presented to The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for its extraordinary support of the arts and humanities over more than four decades. The award was accepted by Earl Lewis, President of the Mellon Foundation, and Danielle S. Allen, Chair of the Foundation’s Board of Trustees. Listen to audio of the award presentation, as well as the Mellon Foundation’s remarks to the attendees.

Founded in 1969, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation endeavors to strengthen, promote, and defend the contributions of the humanities and the arts. To this end, the Foundation has awarded thousands of grants totaling more than $5.7 billion dollars to institutions of higher learning and culture, including 25 grants totaling more than $12 million to the Newberry. The Mellon Foundation’s generous support has enabled the Newberry to fulfill its mission through a number of projects and initiatives including institutes and digital tools to teach paleography; decades’ worth of fellowships; the conversion of a paper card catalog to an electronic system; the ongoing work of our conservation lab; and the core operations of our reading rooms and library staff.

If you would like to make a contribution in honor of the Mellon Foundation, please click here.

About the Newberry Library Award

The Newberry Library Award, the highest honor that the library bestows, recognizes achievement in the humanities in the tradition of the Newberry Library, which has cultivated the life of the mind across more than a century. In conferring the award, the Newberry honors individuals or organizations for outstanding contributions to the humanities, particularly in fields of endeavor related to the Newberry’s collection and activities.

Past recipients of the Newberry Library Award include Stacy Schiff, Roger Baskes, David McCullough, Francis C. Oakley, Robert Darnton, Jonathan D. Spence, William J. Cronon, Anthony Grafton, Richard M. Daley, Hanna H. Gray, Richard J. Franke, Lawrence Stone, Jaroslav Pelikan, and Paul Oskar Kristeller.