The Scramble for Africa | Newberry

The Scramble for Africa

Tuesday, November 1, 2016

9:30 am to 12:30 pm

Dr. Amy Settergren, Northwestern University
Full, waitlist available
Newberry Teachers' Consortium

At the beginning of the nineteenth century, Europeans were mainly relegated to trading posts along the coasts of Africa but by the end of that long century, virtually the entire continent had been partitioned and conquered by seven European powers. This seminar will examine this dramatic change in Africa’s fortunes. We will discuss the conditions that transformed the balance of power between Africans and Europeans and the economic, political and culture factors that fueled European imperialism and led to a “scramble” to claim African territory. This imperialism was signaled in 1876 by King Leopold of Belgium who wrote, “I do not want to miss a good chance of getting us a slice of this magnificent African cake.” It reached its apogee in 1884 when European powers met at a conference in Berlin to divide up the continent among themselves. No Africans were present. Unlike those Europeans, this seminar will consider how Africans experienced, responded to and resisted European conquest and colonialism.

Cost and Registration Information 

Newberry Teachers’ Consortium members may register for this seminar through their designated membership contact as space permits. Non-member educators may register for this seminar by purchasing an individual membership at the time of registration. Registration for all NTC seminars opens Wednesday, September 7, 2016. For more information about NTC membership, please contact Charlotte Ross, Teacher Programs Manager, at

The seminar will be followed by a catered lunch. Registrants should RSVP for lunch to assist Teacher Programs staff in reducing waste.

A link to the assigned pre-readings for this seminar will be distributed to participants via email.

If you believe you are registered for this seminar but have not received an email confirmation or reminder, please contact Teacher Programs staff.