Cervantes Symposium | Newberry

Cervantes Symposium

First edition of Don Quixote, 1605, Newberry Case Y722 .C344

First edition of Don Quixote, 1605, Newberry Case Y722 .C344

The Cervantes Symposium, cosponsored by the Instituto Cervantes of Chicago, met annually at the Newberry from 2001 to 2010 and again in 2012, providing leading scholars from throughout the United States a forum to share and discuss emerging research in the field. Keynote speakers at past symposia have included Carlos Alvar, Jean Canavaggio, Anne J. Cruz, William Egginton, Edward Friedman, Charles Ganelin, Carroll Johnson, Jacques Lezra, Howard Mancing, Adrienne Martin, James A. Parr, and Marcia Welles.

In 2011 and 2013, the Chicago Cervantes Symposium met at the Instituto Cervantes of Chicago. A multi-day National Cervantes Symposium in 2014 was hosted by the University of Illinois at Chicago, with participants from Cervantes groups from around North America.

You can find a copy of the 2017 Annual Cervantes Symposium program here.

Past Newberry Cervantes Symposia