Location and Hours | Newberry

Location and Hours

The Newberry reading rooms are now open to researchers by appointment. Learn about planning your research and making an appointment.

Our exhibition galleries are open to the public again. No appointments are necessary, but we ask that you sign in with our staff in the lobby when you arrive so we can limit gallery entry and promote social distancing.

The Newberry
60 West Walton Street
Chicago, IL 60610
(312) 943-9090

Monday

Reading Rooms: Closed
Exhibition Galleries: Closed
Bookstore: Closed

Tuesday

Reading Rooms: 10 am – 4 pm
Exhibition Galleries: noon – 4 pm
Bookstore: noon – 4 pm

Wednesday

Reading Rooms: 10 am – 4 pm
Exhibition Galleries: noon – 4 pm
Bookstore: noon – 4 pm

Thursday

Reading Rooms: 10 am – 4 pm
Exhibition Galleries: noon – 4 pm
Bookstore: noon – 4 pm

Friday

Reading Rooms: 10 am – 4 pm
Exhibition Galleries: noon – 4 pm
Bookstore: noon – 4 pm

Saturday

Reading Rooms: Closed
Exhibition Galleries: Closed
Bookstore: Closed

Sunday

Reading Rooms: Closed
Exhibition Galleries: Closed
Bookstore: Closed

2020 Holiday Closings

  • New Year's 2020: Wednesday, January 1, 2020
  • Martin Luther King Day: Monday, January 20
  • Presidents Day: Saturday, February 15 and Monday, February 17
  • Memorial Day: Saturday, May 23 and Monday, May 25
  • Independence Day: Saturday, July 4
  • Labor Day: Saturday, September 5 and Monday, September 7
  • Thanksgiving: Early closing (5:15pm) on Wednesday, November 25. Closed Thursday, November 26; Friday, November 27; Saturday, November 28
  • Staff clean-up Day: Friday, December 11
  • Christmas: Early closing (5:15pm) on Wednesday, December 23. Closed Thursday, December 24; Friday, December 25; Saturday, December 26; Monday, December 28
  • New Year's 2021: Early closing (5:15pm) on Thursday, December 31. Closed Friday, January 1, 2021

The reading rooms are open to registered readers. Learn more about Services for Readers and Researchers.