Newberry Consortium in American Indian Studies | Newberry

Newberry Consortium in American Indian Studies

NCAIS Faculty Liaisons, June 2014. Photo by Catherine Gass.

NCAIS Faculty Liaisons, June 2014. Photo by Catherine Gass.

At the end of its partnership with the 13 Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) universities in June 2008, the Newberry inaugurated a new Consortium in American Indian Studies. NCAIS began accepting members in the summer and launched the programs in July 2009. The consortium draws on the Newberry’s world-renowned collections in American Indian and Indigenous studies and the resources of the McNickle Center to offer programs such as institutes, conferences, and annual workshops, as well as provide fellowships to graduate students and faculty at member institutions. Membership in the consortium will be limited to 20 institutions and is being offered to universities in the United States and Canada.

NCAIS Member Institutions and Faculty Liaisons

Cornell University. Prof. Angela Gonzales, Sociology
Harvard University. Dr. Castle McLaughlin, Peabody Museum
Michigan State University. Prof. Susan Sleeper-Smith, History

Northwestern University. Prof. John David Márquez, African American and Latino/a Studies
Princeton University. Prof. Wendy Warren, History
University of British Columbia. Prof. Paige Raibmon, History
University of Colorado, Boulder, Prof. Elizabeth Fenn, History
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Prof. Robert Warrior, American Indian Studies
University of Manitoba. Prof. Adele Perry, History
University of Minnesota. Prof. Jean O’Brien, History
University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Prof. William Bauer, History
University of New Mexico. Prof. Jennifer Nez Denetdale, American Studies
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Prof. Kathleen Duval, History
University of Oklahoma. Prof. Warren Metcalf, History

University of Washington. Prof. Alexandra “Sasha” Harmon, American Indian Studies
University of Winnipeg. Prof. Mary Jane McCallum, History
University of Wisconsin Milwaukee. Prof. Cary Miller, History
University of Wyoming. Prof. Caskey Russell, American Indian Studies
Vanderbilt University. Prof. Daniel Usner, Jr, History
Yale University. Prof. Ned Blackhawk, History and American Studies